The Eight Limbed Yogic Path

Yoga teacher training is truly amazing. 
I grow more and more every week. 
I came across this in my reading and LOVED it. 

The eight limed yogic path is a step-by-step path toward the realization of yoga, or union with the universal self. 

1. Yamas: Restraints which apply specifically to how you behave outwardly towards other beings.
(non-violence, truthfulness, non-stealing, sensual moderation, non-grasping)

2. Niyama: Observances which apply to how you conduct yourself on a more personal level. 
(cleanliness, contentment, discipline, self-study, devotion)

3. Asana: Getting control over our physical bodies. 

4. Pranayama: Ones own vital energy and life force. By manipulating the breath, we learn how to manage our energy more skillfully. 

5. Pratyhara: "withdrawal from the senses." Energy and attention is directed inward to the heart and mind. One stops reaching out through the senses toward external stimuli. 

6. Dharana: Training the mind to focus on a single point, or object for a prolonged period of time. 

7. Dhyana: Meditation. The choice to focus. 

8. Samadhi: Complete evenness and equilibrium in the mind. There is no separation, only love and oneness.